Biotech Research

About Us

About Icogenex Management Board of Directors Scientific Advisors

Board of Directors

Dr. Frederick S. Hagen is founder, President, and CEO of Icogenex. During his tenure at ZymoGenetics, from 1982 to 1994, Dr. Hagen served in a number of leadership roles. Major accomplishments include cloning and expression of the cDNA for Factor VII. This blood coagulation protein is currently over a $1 billion a year product for Novo Nordisk. Another discovery was the identification of cDNA encoding Thrombopoietin, the growth factor regulator of platelet production that was licensed to Amgen.

In 13 years with ZymoGenetics, Dr. Hagen experienced first-hand the development and maturation of a biotechnology company from startup through buyout by Novo Nordisk. While at ZymoGenetics, he also worked for a year at Novo Nordisk headquarters in Copenhagen, Denmark, where he gained experience in the operations of a large pharmaceutical company.

Dr. Hagen has 21 issued patents and is an author on 34 peer-reviewed journal articles. Dr Hagen received his Ph.D. from the University of Washington and completed his postdoctoral work at Harvard Medical School.

James B. Glavin has 38 years of experience in the health care pharmaceutical industry. He has been Chairman of the Board of Directors of Immune Response since May 1993, CEO from April 1987 to September 1994, President from October 1987 to September 1994, and Treasurer from April 1987 to May 1991. He was Chairman of the Board of Directors of Smith Laboratories, Inc., a medical products company, from September 1985 to May 1990 and Acting President and CEO from September 1985 to August 1989.

During 1985 to 1987 Mr. Glavin was a Partner in CH Ventures. From 1981 to 1983, he was President and CEO of Genetics Systems Corporation and Chairman of the Board from 1983 to 1985. In addition to being Director and Chairman of Immune Response, he is currently a Director of Nektar Therapeutic Systems, Inc., formerly Inhale Therapeutic Systems, Inc., Meridian Fund, and Chairman of the Board of Avanir Pharmaceuticals.